Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Pinoy students win 56 International Math & Science Olympiad Medals


MANILA, Philippines - Filipino students representing the country bagged a total of 56 medals in the recently concluded 8th International Mathematics and Science Olympiad (IMSO) for Primary Schools in Naga City, Camarines Sur.
Dr. Simon Chua, IMSO chief organizer and president of the Mathematics Trainers Guild-Philippines (MTG), said this is the "best showing of the Philippines" since the country participated in the event.

The Philippine team won 6 gold medals, 12 silvers and 38 bronzes in the contest, which was held from September 2 to 6.

Farrell Wu of MGC New Life Christian Academy in Taguig won as Champion in Theory in Math while Raphael Villaluz of San Beda College-Alabang emerged as Experiment Champion in Science.
Two students from Singapore won as overall champions in math and science. The Southeast Asian city-state won 6 gold and 6 silver medals.

Other big winners include Thailand (6 golds, 13 silvers and 4 bronzes), Indonesia (3 golds, 4 silvers and 7 bronzes) and China (3 golds, 4 silvers and 3 bronzes).
A total of 268 contestants joined this year's IMSO. Other participating countries include South Korea, Iran, Malaysia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, India and Taiwan.
Below are the Filipino students who won medals in the 8th IMSO:
Gold medalists
  1. Farrell Eldrian Wu
  2. Sedrick Scott Keh
  3. Clyde Wesley Ang
  4. Errol John Suarez
Silver medalists
  1. Andrea Jaba
  2. Alberto John Patupat
  3. Elijamin Wolfgang Claveria
  4. Mark Christopher Uy
  5. John Aries Ceazar Hingan
  6. Patrick Allen Tanada
  7. Miguel Lorenzo Ildesa
 Bronze medalists
  1. Shaquille Wyan Que
  2. Terence Brian Tsai
  3. Kyle Aiden Gattud
  4. Frederick Matthew Corpuz
  5. Vicente Raphael Chan
  6. Luke Matthews Bernardo
  7. Mark Ebson Susana
  8. Samantha Louise Wong
  9. Justine Marcus Opulencia
  10. Jilian Therese Robredo
  11. Jose Ignacio Locsin
  12. Emmanuel Paolo Santos
  13. Rugilyn Briones
  14. Angela Claire Panes
  15. Viq Ashley Alentajan
  16. Christopher John Borja
  17. Cheska Marina Hufano
Gold medalists
  1. Raphael Villaluz
  2. Christian Philip Gelera
Silver medalists
  1. Aroanna Sofia Ramos
  2. Mikaela San Ramon
  3. Xavier Jefferson Ray Go
  4. Yna Mari Ojeda
  5. Hazel France Doblon
Bronze medalists
  1. Miko Johnson Co
  2. Justin Brian Razon
  3. Christian Joseph Naldoza
  4. Lorenz Matthew Tech
  5. Azriel Cais Baluyut
  6. Matthew Johann Uy
  7. Frances Marie Lyle Coralde
  8. Guinevere Soria
  9. Ina Francesca Caramoan
  10. Franchell Eda Javier
  11. Luis Alfonso Montales
  12. Q-Shane Lilian Fortuna
  13. Miguel Angelo Bondad
  14. Reyshell Marie Lat
  15. Paolo Carmelo Notorio,
  16. Lorenzo Thomas Lazaro
  17. Jehiel Angelica Mari Cea
  18. Kristine Mae Alo
  19. Christopher James Balayan
  20. Norking Ace Sagle
  21. Mary Katherine Balane

Related post

1 comment:

MAAC said...

I was very encouraged to find this site. I wanted to thank you for this special read. I definitely savored every little bit of it and I have bookmarked you to check out new stuff you post.
Animation courses
Animation institutes
Institute of foreign languages

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...